I can delete objects despite object lock & retention enabled
Issue: After creating a bucket with object lock enabled and assigning a certain retention mode and period to an underlying object, I can delete that object - i.e., it is no longer visible on my screen.
Resolution: Activate 'Show deleted files' to see objects with a 'delete marker'. You can also restore these objects.
Activate 'Show deleted files' to show all objects with a 'delete marker'.
Background: Object lock and retention policies add a data protection layer to prevent users from deleting objects. Adding a 'delete marker' only hides objects, which can always be reversed. This action is independent of object lock and retention. See our documentation on object lock for further details.